RPN Competition
Research Policy Network (RPNs) Competition Policy

Competition Policy

The purpose of the Competition Policy RPN is to become a leading platform for the critical discussion of competition policy design and outcomes.

Project lead

Tommaso Valletti

Professor of Economics Imperial College London - Business School; Professor of Economics University of Rome Tor Vergata


Competition policy issues are now more prominent in the public debate than at any point in decades.  The purpose of the Competition Policy RPN is to become a leading platform for the critical discussion of competition policy design and outcomes worldwide.   


Academic research increasingly suggests that margins and concentration have been rising across the economy for over 40 years.  The growing market power of giant digital platforms raises concerns about privacy and data protection, exploitation of consumers and small businesses, and foreclosure of smaller rivals.  Issues such as algorithmic collusion, “killer acquisitions,” and common ownership are all rising in policy debates.  While there is debate about the sources and consequences of these trends, there is a growing realisation that there has been underenforcement of competition law with respect to both merger control and abuse of dominant market positions, leading to multiple regulatory initiatives in the EU, US, UK, and Australia. Much remains to be done, including agreeing on guiding principles, specific rules, and implementation mechanisms, both in digital markets and beyond. 

The purpose of the CEPR Competition Policy RPN is to become a leading platform for the critical discussion of competition policy design and outcomes worldwide. This is particularly important in an adversarial context like competition enforcement, where parties with “skin in the game” seek to shape the public debate by sponsoring research favourable to their point of view. The RPN seeks to create a network of academics and enforcers to evaluate both  influential decisions and academic research, and generate practical guidance to promote better policymaking as well as more policy-relevant academic research. 

Leadership of the RPN is supported by a Steering Committee: Cristina Caffarra (Charles River Associates) (Vice-Chair), Tomaso Duso (DIW Berlin, TU Berlin and the Berlin Centre for Competition Policies (BCCP)), and Monika Schnitzer (LMU Munich and member of the German Council of Economic Experts).


    The primary activity of the RPN is to organize workshops and conferences that bring together leading academics, enforcers, and policymakers to discuss topical policy questions in antitrust and regulation.  It aims to create a bridge between the enforcers and policymakers facing practical policy questions and the academics with an interest in these questions.

    The Competition Policy RPN will host several events, falling into two types. The first event type (“bottom-up”) brings together academics, practicing economists, and regulators to discuss the current thinking on specific topics of high contemporary policy interest. Relevant casework and academic papers are chosen to be presented and discussed in a format accessible to a policy audience. The insights from these events are later distilled into a CEPR Policy Brief, written by selected RPN members and academics to appeal to as broad a policy audience as possible, with the intention to foster better policymaking.

    The second event type (“top-down”) brings to the table those shaping and implementing the competition policy agenda worldwide, including heads of competition agencies, politicians, and other thought leaders in the competition policy space.

    Transparency in these discussions is important, therefore participation in any event organized by the CEPR Competition Policy RPN requires strict adherence to the disclosure policies.

    Disclosure Policies

    Chair of Steering Committee

    Rod Sims

    Professor Australian National University; Chairperson Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

    Vice Chair of Steering Committee

    Cristina Caffarra

    Senior Consultant Charles River Associates; Head of Antitrust and Regulation Europe

    Steering Committee

    Tomaso Duso

    Head of the department Firms and Markets Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW Berlin); Professor for economics

    Monika Schnitzer

    Full Professor of Economics Bibliothek Wirtscharftswiseneschaften - University of Munich


    Emilio Calvano

    Associate Professor of Economics, University of Bologna and Associate Faculty Toulouse School of Economics

    Giacomo Calzolari

    Professor of Economics, EUI Florence Fondazione Bologna University Business School

    Jan De Loecker

    Assistant Professor of Economics and Public Affairs Princeton University

    Federico Etro

    Senior Consultant Charles River Associates; Professor University of Florence

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Rosa Ferrer

    Affiliate Professor ICREA Universitat Pompeu Fabra; Associate Professor, Department of Economics and Business Pompeu Fabra University; Associate Professor, Department of Economics and Business Pompeu Fabra University

    Amelia Fletcher

    Professor of Competition Policy, Norwich Business School Norwich University; Deputy Director, Centre for Competition Policy University of East Anglia

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Joshua Gans

    Professor of Strategic Management and Jeffrey S. Skoll Chair of Technical Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Rotman School of Management University Of Toronto

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Paul Heidhues

    Professor of Behavioral and Competition Economics Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

    James Hodge

    Chief Economist Competition Commission South Africa

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Massimo Motta

    Research Professor Research Professor ICREA Universitat Pompeu Fabra

    Volker Nocke

    Vice Chancellor's Fellow Professor of Economics University of Mannheim

    Martin Peitz

    Director Mannheim Centre for Competition and Innovation (MaCCI); Professor of Economics University of Mannheim

    Pierre Régibeau

    Chief Competition Economist, DG Competition European Comission

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Fiona Scott Morton

    Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics,Yale University School of Management Yale University

    RPN Member, Media Plurality / RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Rod Sims

    Professor Australian National University

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Rod Sims

    Professor Australian National University; Chairperson Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

    Otto Toivanen

    Professor Helsinki Center of Economic Research; Academic Director

    Thibaud Vergé

    Professor of Economics Institut Polytechnique de Paris

    RPN Member, Competition Policy

    Martin Watzinger

    Research Affiliate Centre for Economic Policy Research; Professor of Economics University of Münster

    Competition Policy Panel
    Webinar Video

    Competition Policy Panel

    Chair: Tommaso Valletti (Imperial College London and CEPR)

    Benoit Coeuré (Autorité de la Concurrence)
    Mar Réguant (Northwestern University, Barcelona School of Economics and CEPR)
    Rod Sims (ANU)
    Martin Watzinger (University of Münster and CEPR)